Like us on Facebook

About El Dorado Civitan Club

Civitan International, founded in 1917, is an organization of volunteer service clubs around the world, dedicated to helping people in their own communities. Civitans help wherever the need arises – from collecting food for a homeless shelter, to volunteering at their local retirement home, to building a playground for children with disabilities. El Dorado Civitans Club has been helping people since the chapter’s founding in 1956. Our mission is to build good citizenship by providing a volunteer organization of clubs dedicated to serving individual and community needs with an emphasis on helping people with developmental disabilities.

Fundraisers and Activities

Fundraisers include the Annual Civitan TV Auction, 2/3rds of proceeds benefit South Arkansas Developmental Center for Children and Families; annual holiday sales of Juanita's Brittle and Claxton Fruitcake; the year round flag project in cooperation with the Boy Scouts; and candy box sales, benefiting children with disabilities, including the Civitan International Research Center and Special Olympics.

El Dorado Civitans work with The Salvation Army each Christmas to pack and deliver food boxes to the less fortunate in our community. Civitans volunteer at Special Olympics and build wheelchair ramps around our community. The club makes donations to other worthwhile organizations such as Boy Scouts, Campfire, Upward Bound, JROTC, Operation Christmas Child, and SIGHT, and has created the Open Door Scholarship at SouthArk for students with developmental disabilities.


  • Designated a Civitan International Honor Club of Distinction, 2009-10
  • Designated a Civitan International Honor Club, 2008-2009
  • Best Newsletter, Heartland District 2008-09
  • 2nd place, Best Club Project for the T. V. Auction, Heartland District, 2008-09

El Dorado Civitan Club

Officers: Oct 2019 - Sept 2021

  • President: Shirley Ballard
  • Vice President Elect: Frank Hash
  • Secretary: Robin Thornton
  • Treasurer: Grady Tracy
  • Past President: Elaine Strickland